Singapore Branch Prize Giving February 2016

Posted on Friday, February 19, 2016

The Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers Singapore Branch celebrated the exam prize giving ceremony for the year 2015 at 'The Tanglin Club'.


Singapore's shipbroking community was out in force for the annual prize-giving and cocktail reception of the local branch of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers (ICS). Branch chairman Punit Oza, who works for Torvald Klaveness during the day, kicked off events before he handed over to the night's guest of honour, industry veteran Khalid Moinuddin Hashim, Managing Director of Precious Shipping Public Company Ltd, who provided some useful insights into the current state of the dry bulk sector.

More than a hundred guests including members and sponsors joined in to celebrate the success of the students. The awards were presented in 17 categories including one for each subject and one for the best overall student.

Prize-winners collecting awards were those who had come out on top in the various disciplines of the Institute syllabus for professional qualifying examinations. Categories include dry cargo and tanker chartering, sale and purchase (S&P), shipping law and finance, the liner trades, offshore industries, agency business and logistics. Prize-winners included Seow Weilong of Singapore Shipping Agencies, Captain Jagadeesan Natarajan of OMC Shipping Pte, Ng Fang Yao of RaetsAsia P&I Services, Sanju Joseph of d'Amico Shipping Singapore, Ng Tow Boon of Vroon Offshore Services and Michael John Newman of Fearnleys LNG. Rajesh Saha of Strait Shipbrokers, Juan Ignacio Pizarro Colomo of Sea Consortium, Wong Siang Yeung Rigan of Temasek, Shishir Ravi of Navig8 Bulk Asia and Deepak Kumar Sahu of World Tankers Management were also among the winners. The prize for the best overall student sponsored by the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore was awarded to Mr Chandrashekhar Josyula of STET Maritime Pte Ltd.

After the awards ceremony, which was held at The Tanglin Club, guests enjoyed a buffet supper accompanied by wine and beer. Sponsor companies included Louis Dreyfus Commodities, Braemar ACM Shipbroking, Torvold Klaveness, Swire Pacific Offshore, ITIC, BLPL Singapore, Strait Shipbrokers, The Baltic Exchange, Norden, GAC, Pacific International Lines, Jurong Port, Anglo-Eastern, TATA NYK and Eastport Maritime.

Singapore Branch Prize-giving featured in Tradewinds.

201602 Singapore Prize Giving - 2015 Exams