Middle East Branch Student Awards 2016

Posted on Sunday, February 19, 2017

The Middle East Branch Student Awards for 2016 was held at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Sheik Zayed Road (Dubai).

On the 19th of February 2017, the Middle East branch of the Institute of Chartered shipbrokers celebrated their awards night recognizing the achievements of the students. The students with the highest score on their exams for each subject were recognized and presented an award on behalf of the membership. Two of the branch students also won awards at the Institute's global awards ceremony for their outstanding performance on a global scale: Suresh Nautiyal and Rajshekhar won the awards for three subjects each, while Rajshekhar bagged the overall award.




Prize Winner

Introduction to Shipping

Gulf Agency Company LLC.

Ms Adina Curt

Legal Principles in Shipping

Emirates Maritime Arbitration Centre (EMAC )


Mr. Suresh B. Nautiyal


Economics of Sea Transport & Int'l Trade

Stephenson Harwood Middle East LLP -

Mr. Suresh B. Nautiyal

Shipping Business

Charterers P&I Club

Mr. Syed S. Sadiq

Dry Cargo Chartering

International Shipping and Logistics FZE (ISL) - 

Ms. Fatemeh Rahmati

Ship Operation and Management



Mr. Rajshekhar

Ship Sale and Purchase

GAC  Marketing


Mr. Suresh B. Nautiyal

Tanker Chartering

Clarksons Platou


Mr. Rajshekhar

Liner Trade

Globelink  West Star Shipping LLC

Ms. Joe Anselvam

Liner Trade

TT Club

Mr. Lalindu Jayawickrama

Port Agency

Wilhemsen Shipping Services

Mr. Rajshekhar

Logistics & Multi-modal transport

Red Pearl Logistics

Mr.  Luke Corera

Port and Terminal Management

Atlantic Shipping LLC


Mr. Karthikeyan Ramalingam

Marine Insurance


Ms. Elena Durin

Shipping Finance

Marcura Equities FZE 

Mr. Algernon Rothwell

Over all toppers for the academic year 2015-2016

Peter Machado Marketing

Mr. Rajshekhar


Sponsors memento

Sponsors memento

After the felicitations, the Branch President, Mr. Krishnan Subramaniam highlighted the achievements of 2014-17, the tenure of the previous committee and thanked the Committee members, especially the leadership of Capt.Peter Machado. Capt. Peter was presented with a memento highlighting his commitment, professionalism and ethics. Mr.Krishnan gave us a peak into the "Vision 2020" of the Middle East branch and the significance of the year both for UAE and its branch itself. It was announced that the team will progress with clear goals in mind to achieve the same in 2020 as the branch turns 25 years. Gratitude was extended to Capt. Misra and all senior founding members of the branch. Capt Jagan ended the evening thanking all the attendees. The event ended with a networking dinner. Pictures of the event are available on the branch's facebook page.

Keynote1-HE Buamim Keynote2-HE Buamaim Memento to Capt.Peter

The keynote speech was delivered by HE Buamim who also congratulated Capt. Peter Machado FICS for his work as a President of the Branch over the years.

Memento to Chief Guest 02 MC-Ali Canani Welcome address-Capt.Peter 2 Some committee members

Memento to Chief Guest. Ali Canani FICS, Treasurer of the Branch and 2014 Prize Winner and Capt. Peter Machado FICS, Immediate Past President addressing the guests. Some committee members.

President address-Krishnan Student awardees

Krishnan Subramaniam FICS deliverying the President address. Student awardees.