All Change at the Liverpool Branch 2016 Annual General Meeting

Posted on Friday, December 2, 2016

All Change at the Branch Annual General Meeting

The Branch Annual General Meeting was held in the Khrua Thai Orchid Restaurant in Heswall on Wednesday 2nd December 2016 and was followed by a social evening.

During the meeting there was a change to the top two positions on the Branch committee. Mrs Alyson Loughlin FICS was elected as the Chair and Mrs Vikki Whitfield was elected as Vice Chair. Both positions are for the next 2 years.


The New Branch Chair, Alyson Loughlin FICS (centre) with the new Branch Vice Chair Vikki Whitfield MICS (left) and outgoing Branch chair Spencer Barton-Hope FICS (right).

In his final Chairman's report to the AGM the outgoing Chairman, Mr Spencer Barton-Hope FICS, said that at the end of his 2 years he wanted to reflect on what has been achieved against his objectives for the Branch.

During the last 2 years the Institute has held examination periods in April and November each year. Over the last 2 years we have seen 7 students complete their PQE examinations and successfully apply for Membership of the Institute. There are a number of other students who are part way through their qualifying examinations. He thanked Viorel Raducanescu and David Gilmour for their arranging of the pre-examination PREP evenings and the invigilators for giving their time during the examinations.

With the new ICS Members we have welcomed a number of new committee members - Keith Davies, Paula Seedhouse, John Monaghan and Vikki Whitfield and at this AGM we have applications to join the committee from John Williams, James Cowley and Colin Bansor.

He then gave a brief overview of his attendance at the ICS Controlling Council meetings in which, amongst other matters, saw the approval being given to the revised route to membership. This would lead to the withdrawal of Bye-Law 50 as well as setting new principles of membership. He said the Branch was praised for our regular newsletters and general performance.

He suspected that the most controversial thing during his Chairmanship was the change to the Annual Dinner. The move to a Thursday did not impact too much on the numbers attending. The Hilton offers a great venue but unfortunately the venue let us down in the quality of service. He fully supported the incoming Chairman's decision to return to the Crowne Plaza. He believed there is more we can do to make the dinner even better and the fresh ideas coming from the new committee members will only help in this area.

Spencer continued by saying that we held another successful Golf Day at Heswall that attracted 12 teams. He congratulated MA Logistics for winning the team trophy for the first time, Seb Gardiner for winning the Keith Duncan Trophy and Barry Stokes for winning the Mike Armitt Cup. The Branch also hosted a number of other events namely: a 3 day meeting of the ICS Education and Training Committee, Federation Council meeting and an ICS Open Day for potential new students and an ICS information seminar for maritime degree students at Liverpool JMU. In summary he believed the Branch had achieved a lot in meeting the objectives that had set when taking on the role of Chairman.

To conclude he thanked Barry Stokes, Seb Gardiner and Joanne Jones for hosting our monthly meetings. David Gilmour for his help with the Annual Dinner and the ICS Open Day event. Alyson Loughlin for her support as Vice Chair and wished her good luck as the incoming Chair. Finally he thanked Roy Cooke for keeping the website updated, producing our Newsletter and his assistance and support during the year.