Singapore Branch 2017 Prize Giving Ceremony

Posted on Monday, February 27, 2017

The Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers, Singapore Branch, held its Annual Prize Giving Ceremony on the 27th February 2017.  The ceremony gave the local shipping community to an opportunity to recognize all the candidates who excelled in the Academic year 2015-2016 examinations.

Networking and cocktails session that followed proved to be a relaxed evening for everyone. Not only did the attendees grab the chance to meet and interact with the prize winners, but also found the chance to meet industry colleagues very valuable and thus many stayed back till quite late in the evening. The evening was initially kicked off by the MC for evening Ms Sophia Low, MICS and was followed by a word of welcome by our chairman Mr Punit Oza, FICS.

The Guest of Honour for the evening was Prof. Annie Koh, Vice President, Office of Business Development, Academic Director ITS, SMU, who during her keynote address, highlighted the successful 10-year partnership between ICS and SMU, in the field of education in Singapore to some very popular applause. She also encouraged all the company representatives who attended to be role-models in being more active in hiring talent locally from the pool of Singapore ICS students.

Other VIP Guests who graced the evening were Mr S.S. Teo, Director of PIL, Ms Maite Bolivar Klarup, GM, BIMCO, Mr S.K. Lim, MD Transport Logistics, IMC Industrial Group, Mr Ryota Takenaka, Executive Director, TaTa NYK, to mention a few of the names.





DSC_1046 DSC_1043

The Star of the evening though was Mr Prabhu Narayan Singh who bagged the Best Overall Student award which was sponsored by MPA Singapore. He attended the ceremony to collect his prize from Ms Tan Beng Tee, Asst. Chief Executive (Development) MPA Singapore, following the other 16 individual subject award in each exam.  Each of the individual awards was presented by one of the local industry leaders representing the sponsoring organization of each award.

BOS Prize Award

The list of award winners and sponsoring companies is also published in all ICS Singapore online interfaces.

Subject Winner Sponsor
Introduction to Shipping Toh Qian Rui Joel The Baltic Exchange
Shipping Business Tan Ker Han Louis Dreyfus Company
Legal Principles of Shipping Business Ekaterina Belovitskaya TaTa NYK Shipping Pte Ltd
Dry Cargo Chartering Glenn Goh NORDEN Shipping (Singapore) Pte Ltd
Ship Operations & Management Prabhu Narayan Singh Anglo-Eastern Ship Management (Singapore) Pte Ltd
Ship Sale and Purchase Prabhu Narayan Singh Braemar ACM Shipbroking Pte Ltd
Tanker Chartering Varun Kapoor Strait Shipbrokers Pte Ltd
Liner Trades Daniel Piechnik Pacific International Lines Pte Ltd
Port Agency Tarun Nagpal GAC Singapore Pte Ltd
Logistics & Multi-modal Transport Dan Chua Kok Leong Transworld Group Singapore
Port & Terminal Management A R Jude Darren ICS Singapore
Offshore Support Industry Koh Ming Chang Swire Pacific Offshore Operations Pte Ltd
Economics of Sea Transport & International Trade Garry Steiner Torvald Klaveness
Shipping Law Viknesh Jeg Pillay ICS Singapore
Marine Insurance Wu Yixuan ITIC Ltd
Shipping Finance Wong Koon Min Eastport Maritime Pte Ltd
Best Overall Student Prabhu Narayan Singh Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore