Sri Lanka celebrates students’ success

Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2017

ICS Logo - Sri Lanka Branch banner


The Sri Lanka Branch held its 23rd annual awards ceremony in February at the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel, Colombo, to celebrate the success of its members and students.

The awards ceremony was attended by a number of dignitaries including Honorary Arjuna Ranathunga, minister of ports and shipping; Dr Indrajit Coomaraswamy, governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka; Dr Parakrama Dissanayake FICS, president of the Institute; and Michael Taliotis FICS, chairman of the Institute.

Branch chairperson Anoma Ranasinghe FICS welcomed attendees to the event. She discussed the importance of every person working to upgrade his or her skills in order to further their career objectives in a world where technologies and administration keeps changing.

201702 - Sri Lanka awards

The Sri Lanka Branch hosted its 23rd annual awards ceremony

The branch took the opportunity to recognise one of its founder members and past chairman Dr Dissanayake, who was elected as the first non-British person to become the international president.

The Branch also honoured students who scored the highest marksin individual subjects, as well as students who had completed their Foundation and Advanced diplomas and its new members.