Institute Prize Giving Ceremony 2017

Posted on Friday, October 20, 2017

This year the Institute's prize giving ceremony was back to Trinity House. The event was organised as always to celebrate our student's successes.

After the traditional remarks from Institute senior officers, Bruce Ogilvy FICS and Michael Taliotis FICS, the prize winners started to walk down the aisle to receive their awards directly from relative donors.

This year The Shipwrights Award to the most successful candidate overall in the Examinations went to Harish Venkatesh from Mumbai.

We had some candidates winning multiple prizes.

From London, Melodie Dewitte who won both the Denholm Wilhelmsen Award and the E A Gibson Shipbrokers Award; Piers Dunhill-Turner, who won the Braemar ACM Shipbroking Award and the Tutorship Pieter Van Gelder Award; and Rober Millat who won the Cory Brothers Award and the Shipbrokers' Register Award.

Eleni Mavrea from Athens, received the Baltic Exchange Awards for both Shipping Law and Dry Cargo; and Virasp Vazifdar from Dubai won the Baltic Exchange Award for Shipping Business as well as the Kennedy Marr Limited Award.

Among the many winners present at the ceremony there were some familiar faces: Hannah Kimani-Blanco came back again this year to collect the William Packard Memorial Award to the candidate gaining the highest marks in Advance Diploma overall. Hannah was also asked to say a few words on behalf of the students during the ceremony.

Prize winners, award donors Sue Terpilowski and Bruce Ogilvy

Prize winners, award donors Sue Terpilowski, WISTA President and Bruce Ogilvy FICS, immediate past President of the Institute.

Following the awards, attendees were free to meet and mingle with fellow students and prominent industry figures.

While not everyone could leave with a handful of awards, the helpful advice on offer from seasoned professionals and the chance to make valuable contacts ensured that the evening's benefits extended beyond the prize giving - strengthening the sense of community amongst Institute members and creating fresh bonds between brokers old and new.