About us

Ireland Branch

Citizens of the Irish Republic were formally made eligible for membership of the Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers in 1953 when a change in a bye-law gave branch status to the Dublin Shipbrokers' Association. An Ireland Branch was formed in 1974; Northern Ireland members elected to stay as part of the London Branch until 2007, when they opted to join the Ireland Branch as it became self sufficient in managing its own finances and collecting membership fees.

The inaugural meeting of the Irish Republic Branch was held at the Clarence Hotel in Dublin on September 20, 1974 and was attended by Albert Morris and John Parker; Ray Burke was elected first chairman of the Branch. Dublin, where the examination centre is based, has traditionally been the source of most students, but some have also come from the other major ports of Cork, Waterford, Foynes, Limerick and Galway.

The appointment of a part time Education Office in 2005 proved successful and courses run in Dublin and Cork have led to a considerable increase in the intake of students. Seminars, usually held in Dublin, are arranged regularly for Branch members and guests throughout the year covering topics of interest to the wide shipping community. The Branch also organises social events, including a very popular annual dinner and golf outing.

Who's who in 2023-24

Chairman Gareth Ryan FICS

Secretary Joseph Richardson FICS


Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers - Ireland Branch


20A Henry Street


Republic of Ireland

E: chairman@icsireland.ie;

E: secretary@icsireland.ie;

E: education@icsireland.ie

W: www.icsireland.ie

T: 00353 87 6566610